top of page

Extras - Warm ups

The aim of this blog post is to show my work process from start to finish for some of my warm ups. I will include a few tutorials and timelapses throughout the blog.

Mobius Strip

Below is my workflow for how I modelled a Mobius strip. I started with the box tool, with a few smoothing iterations in order to support how the object will be conforming.

Added a twist modifier with an angle of 360 degrees

Following this, I added the bend modifier using a 360 degree angle as well

Using the extrude tool, I put some depth in the edges of the object

Using "CreaseSet", I added sharpness to the object and used "OpenSubdivide" to increase the poly count a smooth the object, ready for texturing

In Substance Painter, I added a few texture sets and added a few post processing settings to create an eye-pleasing render.

Below is the final result for the mobius strip I made in 3ds max. My inspiration came from a model I saw on ArtStation. I couldn't make a reference to who the artist was as I couldn't find it.


bottom of page