top of page

Texturing - UNIT 70 Extended

This blog outlines the processes I went through to apply textures to a complex set of models.

 

To the left is the Modifier list I used to create the face plate. I used blueprints on the front and side view in order to get the perspective correct.

I quickly applied a chequered texture in the 3DS max viewport in order to view any deformations in the model. As this was not the case, it was ready to be imported into substance painter.

In substance, I quickly applied a golden texture and used a metal wear generator to get the effect you see on the edges of the face plate.

On the right, you'll see an expanded view of the material modifiers that were used to create the textures you will see when scrolling further down the blog. Essentially, I chose random textures and dropped them on top of each other, occasionally changing the opacity and layering method.

Adding lighting to the scene really brought the realism to the scene. This was actually the first time I did any form of texture mapping or rendering, so I'd like to say I am pleased with the final product.

Camouflage Iron Man inspired face plate -

 

For this next project, I used the same process as the first. The only difference being the complexity of the model. I started this project off with a simple cube object, adding a few iterations to it in order to create the circular geometry in the centre

Below is a quick example of what my work progress looked like before I started adding more complex detailing.

Scifi Cube - Used in project endeavor - FMP

 

To evaluate, texturing your assets can create more character and will increase the complexity of your scene without having to add more models.

Your materials don't necessarily have to be realistic, taking cel shading and hand painted textures into account, it is the key to creating an immersive scene.


bottom of page